Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

Static-X – “Project Regeneration Vol. 1”

  1. Regeneration
  2. Hollow (Project Regeneration)
  3. Worth Dyin’ For
  4. Terminator Oscillator
  5. All These Years
  6. Accelerate
  7. Bring You Down (Project Regeneration)
  8. My Destruction
  9. Something Of My Own (Project Regeneration)
  10. Otsego Placebo
  11. Follow
  12. Dead Souls

Static-X, when the hit the scene, had proven to be very different from the bands that were on the radio, or even popular at the time. Essentially calling their sound ‘evil disco’, they carved out a niche somewhere between nu-metal and industrial. Tragically, in many ways, the band had imploded. I won’t be getting into it here, but the original members didn’t fully reconcile until after the unfortunate and untimely passing of Wayne Static in 2014.

In the ensuing years, Koichi Fukuda (guitar), Tony Campos (bass) and Ken Jay (drums), reconciled and found a multitude of recordings that Wayne had made. After finding the recordings, the band enlisted Xer0 (believed to be Edsel Dope of Dope) to help flesh out the songs, and tour in support of the 20th anniversary of Wisconsin Death Trip.

To say this release is poignant would be an understatement. Hearing Wayne’s voice on new songs is both exciting and heartbreaking knowing that he didn’t get to fulfill whatever plans he had with his songs. However, that being said, the album has his fingerprints ALL over it. Not only did they resurrect Wayne via said recordings, but it feels like they hadn’t missed a beat as a band.

Musically, the album doesn’t deviate from the band’s sound; this SOUNDS just like Static-X. There has been no meddling with it, that’s for sure. Yes, this album was pieced together from a variety of demos, and Xer0 has certainly helped write some of the music, but it is very much in line with Wisconsin Death Trip, and it is a natural progression.

Final Thoughts

While the album contains little filler, this is definitely a continuation of Static-X from 20 years ago. What makes this special is that it was cobbled together from demos, which I’m sure required a tremendous amount of work. And, it makes me curious to see what the band could do with Xer0 actually fronting and writing lyrics for a release.