Thu. Sep 21st, 2023

Periphery – “Periphery IV: Hail Stan”

  1. Reptile
  2. Blood Eagle
  3. Chvrch Bvrner
  4. Garden in the Bones
  5. It’s Only Smiles
  6. Follow Your Ghost
  7. Crush
  8. Sentient Glow
  9. Satellites

Periphery has been one of those bands that have been on my radar, but not always what I would expect to want to listen to. That being said, Hail Stan has firmly put them onto the map, and more importantly, my playlisst.

Working for year to expand and defy the norms of progressive metal, they have done more than just push the envelope. Taking the entire year to write and record this album has proven it’s merits. The practically 17-minute long opening track, “Reptile” is bold. Actually, bold may perhaps be an understatement. The ebbs and flows of the melodies, and a clear structure that puts this into more of an epic rather than just a song. Between harmonious strings and Mikee Goodman (SikTh, vocals) guesting on the song, one could surmise that this is a sign to come.

Final Thoughts

A nearly perfect album, which has put Periphery on the map for me, and surely other listeners. Every time you listen, it seems to give up more surprises. Definitely one to listen to, and often!