Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

Kylesa Stream “Quicksand” via Spin; New cover art & track listing revealed.

eshf_ultravioletcover_1Kylesa premiere Quicksand, a new song from their forthcoming album Ultraviolet (May 28, Season of Mist), via Spin.

‘Quicksand’ is a quick 2:35 of ghostly dreamdoom that joins the melodies of ’90s shoegaze with the churn of modern sludge and a riff straight from the Billy Corgan playbook,” says Spin in a brief write-up accompanying the song stream, adding that the song is “a muscular swirl that should please anyone who thought m b v didn’t have enough shouting.

The band has also unveiled the cover art for Ultraviolet, which was done by Sean Beaudry. Beaudry, a fellow Savannah resident, did the artwork for the band’s Time Will Fuse Its Worth reissue. Pre-order bundles for the new album are available now via (http://e-shop.season-of-mist.com/en/predefined-search/37879).

Ultraviolet track listing:
1. Exhale
2. Unspoken
3. Grounded
4. We’re Taking This
5. Long Gone
6. What Does It Take
7. Steady Breakdown
8. Low Tide
9. Vulture’s Landing
10. Quicksand
11. Drifting

Kylesa will play a free, all ages show in their hometown of Savannah at The Dollhouse on April 19th as a way to thank fans for their ongoing support.

Pitchfork, in the band’s first interview regarding Ultraviolet (http://pitchfork.com/features/show-no-mercy/9084-kylesa/), said of the album: “It’s the… heavy rock band’s darkest, most atmospheric record to date. The collection, which features an array of subtle electronic elements, makes for an expressive, immersive listen that will likely find the double-drumming quintet a larger audience.

Unspoken, also from Ultraviolet, was released online in late February, leading Stereogum to say “…if the album’s first single is any indication, they’ve continued moving away from their peers as well as their own past, conquering new territory,” adding “it’s a total triumph.

Official Website